Hey Kings Fans, Prepare To Know Your Monarchs

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook+1Share on TumblrDigg ThisSubmit to redditShare via email

By Paul Armbruster | KingsNewsDaily.com

With an NHL work stoppage looming, LA hockey fans may be forced to delay the excitement of an attempted Kings repeat for who knows how long. If there is lockout, what’s the silver lining you might ask? At the very least we will have ‘Kings’ hockey in New Hampshire to look forward to. With the AHL’s release of their season schedule (and no threat of a work stoppage), the Kings’ AHL club, The Manchester Monarchs, are readying themselves for a full season of hockey led by eager Kings prospects looking to prove themselves.

What makes this AHL season potentially more important than others is the idea that with no NHL to watch, more casual fans will turn their attention toward their respective minor league clubs instead. After winning the Stanley Cup, Kings fans arguably might be more excited than most fans to see some hockey, any hockey, come October. This puts the Monarchs in a unique position to capitalize on the NHL situation by increasing their fan base considerably. The reality is most fans of NHL teams know very little about the lesser hockey teams that groom the stars of tomorrow, especially when those fans are 3,000 miles away, as is the case with LA hockey fans.

If there is a lockout, I expect there may be many Kings fans who will get to know their sub-club much better, giving players such as Thomas Hickey and Tyler Toffoli an opportunity to shine on a stage rarely this bright in the AHL.

Manchester Monarchs 2012-13 Schedule

Date: Time:– Visiting Team: Home Team:
Fri, Oct 12, 2012 7:05 pm EDT Manchester at Providence 7:05 pm EDT
Sat, Oct 13, 2012 5:05 pm EDT Manchester at Albany 5:05 pm EDT
Fri, Oct 19, 2012 7:00 pm EDT Providence at Manchester 7:00 pm EDT
Sat, Oct 20, 2012 7:00 pm EDT Portland at Manchester 7:00 pm EDT
Sat, Oct 27, 2012 7:00 pm EDT Worcester at Manchester 7:00 pm EDT
Sun, Oct 28, 2012 3:00 pm EDT Binghamton at Manchester 3:00 pm EDT
Fri, Nov 2, 2012 7:00 pm EDT W-B/Scranton at Manchester 7:00 pm EDT
Sun, Nov 4, 2012 3:00 pm EST Manchester at Worcester 3:00 pm EST
Wed, Nov 7, 2012 7:00 pm EST St. John’s at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Fri, Nov 9, 2012 7:00 pm EST Bridgeport at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Sat, Nov 10, 2012 7:00 pm EST Providence at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Wed, Nov 14, 2012 10:00 am EST Adirondack at Manchester 10:00 am EST
Fri, Nov 16, 2012 7:05 pm EST Manchester at Providence 7:05 pm EST
Sat, Nov 17, 2012 7:00 pm EST Manchester at Bridgeport 7:00 pm EST
Tue, Nov 20, 2012 7:00 pm EST Manchester at Portland 7:00 pm EST
Fri, Nov 23, 2012 7:00 pm EST Worcester at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Sat, Nov 24, 2012 7:00 pm EST Manchester at Springfield 7:00 pm EST
Sun, Nov 25, 2012 3:00 pm EST Portland at Manchester 3:00 pm EST
Fri, Nov 30, 2012 7:00 pm EST Springfield at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Sat, Dec 1, 2012 7:00 pm EST Manchester at Springfield 7:00 pm EST
Sun, Dec 2, 2012 3:00 pm EST Portland at Manchester 3:00 pm EST
Fri, Dec 7, 2012 7:05 pm EST Manchester at Providence 7:05 pm EST
Sat, Dec 8, 2012 7:00 pm EST Connecticut at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Sun, Dec 9, 2012 3:00 pm EST Worcester at Manchester 3:00 pm EST
Fri, Dec 14, 2012 7:00 pm EST Manchester at Portland 7:00 pm EST *
Sat, Dec 15, 2012 7:00 pm EST Manchester at Adirondack 7:00 pm EST
Sun, Dec 16, 2012 3:00 pm EST Springfield at Manchester 3:00 pm EST
Fri, Dec 21, 2012 7:00 pm EST Connecticut at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Sat, Dec 22, 2012 7:00 pm EST Portland at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Wed, Dec 26, 2012 7:00 pm EST Worcester at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Fri, Dec 28, 2012 7:30 pm EST Manchester at Worcester 7:30 pm EST
Sat, Dec 29, 2012 7:00 pm EST Manchester at Bridgeport 7:00 pm EST
Mon, Dec 31, 2012 7:00 pm EST Worcester at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Fri, Jan 4, 2013 7:30 pm NST Manchester at St. John’s 7:30 pm NST
Sat, Jan 5, 2013 7:30 pm NST Manchester at St. John’s 7:30 pm NST
Fri, Jan 11, 2013 7:00 pm EST Albany at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Sun, Jan 13, 2013 3:05 pm EST Manchester at Providence 3:05 pm EST
Tue, Jan 15, 2013 7:00 pm EST Springfield at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Fri, Jan 18, 2013 7:30 pm EST Manchester at Worcester 7:30 pm EST
Sat, Jan 19, 2013 7:00 pm EST Providence at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Sun, Jan 20, 2013 3:00 pm EST Portland at Manchester 3:00 pm EST
Wed, Jan 23, 2013 7:00 pm EST Providence at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Fri, Jan 25, 2013 7:00 pm EST Manchester at Connecticut 7:00 pm EST
Sat, Jan 26, 2013 7:00 pm EST Manchester at Portland 7:00 pm EST
Fri, Feb 1, 2013 7:05 pm EST Manchester at W-B/Scranton 7:05 pm EST
Sat, Feb 2, 2013 7:00 pm EST Manchester at Hershey 7:00 pm EST
Sat, Feb 9, 2013 7:00 pm EST Providence at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Sun, Feb 10, 2013 3:05 pm EST Manchester at Providence 3:05 pm EST
Fri, Feb 15, 2013 7:00 pm EST St. John’s at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Sat, Feb 16, 2013 7:00 pm EST St. John’s at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Sun, Feb 17, 2013 3:00 pm EST Manchester at Connecticut 3:00 pm EST
Fri, Feb 22, 2013 7:30 pm EST Manchester at Worcester 7:30 pm EST
Sat, Feb 23, 2013 7:00 pm EST Manchester at Bridgeport 7:00 pm EST
Sun, Feb 24, 2013 4:00 pm EST Manchester at Portland 4:00 pm EST
Fri, Mar 1, 2013 7:30 pm NST Manchester at St. John’s 7:30 pm NST
Sat, Mar 2, 2013 7:30 pm NST Manchester at St. John’s 7:30 pm NST
Wed, Mar 6, 2013 7:00 pm EST Bridgeport at Manchester 7:00 pm EST
Fri, Mar 8, 2013 7:00 pm EST Manchester at Portland 7:00 pm EST
Sun, Mar 10, 2013 5:00 pm EDT W-B/Scranton at Manchester 5:00 pm EDT
Fri, Mar 15, 2013 7:00 pm EDT Bridgeport at Manchester 7:00 pm EDT
Sat, Mar 16, 2013 7:00 pm EDT Manchester at Connecticut 7:00 pm EDT
Sun, Mar 17, 2013 3:05 pm EDT Manchester at Providence 3:05 pm EDT
Wed, Mar 20, 2013 7:00 pm EDT Manchester at Springfield 7:00 pm EDT
Sat, Mar 23, 2013 7:00 pm EDT Hershey at Manchester 7:00 pm EDT
Sun, Mar 24, 2013 3:00 pm EDT St. John’s at Manchester 3:00 pm EDT
Wed, Mar 27, 2013 7:00 pm EDT Manchester at Worcester 7:00 pm EDT
Fri, Mar 29, 2013 7:00 pm EDT Manchester at Portland 7:00 pm EDT
Fri, Apr 5, 2013 7:00 pm EDT Portland at Manchester 7:00 pm EDT
Sat, Apr 6, 2013 7:00 pm EDT Providence at Manchester 7:00 pm EDT
Sun, Apr 7, 2013 3:00 pm EDT Manchester at Worcester 3:00 pm EDT
Fri, Apr 12, 2013 7:00 pm EDT Connecticut at Manchester 7:00 pm EDT
Sat, Apr 13, 2013 7:00 pm EDT Hershey at Manchester 7:00 pm EDT
Sun, Apr 14, 2013 3:00 pm EDT Worcester at Manchester 3:00 pm EDT
Fri, Apr 19, 2013 7:05 pm EDT Manchester at Binghamton 7:05 pm EDT
Sat, Apr 20, 2013 7:05 pm EDT Manchester at W-B/Scranton 7:05 pm EDT
Sun, Apr 21, 2013 5:00 pm EDT Manchester at Hershey 5:00 pm EDT

  • LomitaKingsFan

    If anything this may give a bigger boost to the Ontario Reign.